Utah Parents: This one is for you!

Utah Parents: This one is for you!

Your Children Need You to Speak Up Today

Sex ed in schools.jpgHB 246, “Reproductive Health Amendments,” is a Comprehensive Sex Education (CSE)  bill that would not be good for Utah students.  This bill will be presented in the Utah House Education Committee tomorrow, Tuesday at 4:10 p.m.

Over the next 24 hours, the Utah House Education Committee members need to hear from you!

Read below to learn what is wrong with Comprehensive Sex Education.

Please contact the Republican members of the Utah House Education Committee, and respectfully ask them to Vote No on this bill:
•    Write to individual emails to individual committee members (group emails are less effective)
•    Write in the subject line:  Opposing Comprehensive Sex Ed
•    Keep body of email short and simple, just 2 -3 points
•    Thank them for their dedicated service to the families of our state
•    Include your city under your name so they know you are a Utah resident

2016 UTAH HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE:


Brad Last – Chair (R) blast@le.utah.gov
Lowry SnowVice Chair (R) vlsnow@le.utah.gov
LaVar Christensen (R) lavarchristensen@le.utah.gov
Kim Coleman (R) kimcoleman@le.utah.gov
Bruce Cutler (R) brucecutler@le.utah.gov
Steve Eliason (R) seliason@le.utah.gov
Justin Fawson (R) justinfawson@le.utah.gov
Francis Gibson (R)  fgibson@le.utah.gov
Eric Hutchings (R)  ehutchings@le.utah.gov
Dave Lifferth (R) dlifferth@le.utah.gov
Dan McCay (R) dmccay@le.utah.gov
Mike Noel (R)  mnoel@kanab.net

What is wrong with comprehensive sex education?  

ItsPerfectlyNormaleditedversion.jpgComprehensive Sexuality Education includes instruction on how to use different forms of contraception and engage in different sexual behaviors – with or without a partner.

But the truth is there is no such thing as “safe sex” for unmarried teens. All the contraception in the world cannot protect their hearts.

We expect our schools to teach the best practice in every other subject. Abstinence-based education–or “sexual risk avoidance education”– is the best practice in this subject.  We don’t teach kindergarteners how to play with fire safely, we teach them fire-playing abstinence. We don’t teach teens how to drink or do drugs safely, we teach them drug and alcohol abstinence. We teach abstinence from virtually every behavior that hurts individuals and society. Is there anything more potentially harmful than the life-long consequences of early sexual activity?

Comprehensive Sex Education prepares young people “not for the not for the fullness of friendship, intimacy and love, but for casual relationships and recreational sex.”

For more information on the content of a Comprehensive Sex Education curriculum and how it could impact your family, please see:

“Training your Child to be a Gender And Sexual Rights Advocate”

Rose Marie Murray.jpg

Faithfully for Families,

Rose Marie Murray

Director, United Families Utah

No Comments

Post A Comment

five × 3 =